One Take Super 8 Event

The One Take Super 8 Event (OTS8) began in 2000, with 20 filmmakers each shooting a single reel of Super 8 film, which then premiered to an audience without the filmmakers seeing their work beforehand. All the films were shown as shot. No cuts. No splices. The popularity of this non-competitive festival has allowed it to return each year with more filmmakers participating. To date over 1000 films have been created for over 50 One Take Super 8 Events across North America!

Thursday, March 20, 2008

South of the Border

It's that time of year again. We're marking the start of the 2008 season of OTS8 with two shows in the US in the next couple of weeks.

First up is the Syracuse One Take Super 8 Event. After a successful beginning last year with a sold out audience and great new work showcased at Funk 'n Waffles, we're back again this year. Organizer Jessica Lance has been busy getting filmmakers signed up, and on March 29 from 5-8 pm we'll be premiering a whole new slate of films from the Salt City.
click here for a map.

Two states over, the One Take Super 8 Event is pleased to present S.O.S (Super8 Oberlin Showcase) organized by Brett Kashmere (who incidentally brought the OTS8 to Syracuse in 2007). See the line up for the Oberlin show at the bottom of this post.
SOS will take place April 4, 2008 at Fairchild Chapel 50 W. Lorain St. Oberlin OH
click here for a map.

And, if you haven't checked out our Facebook group recently, we've updated it with photos from past One Take Events in Regina, Winnipeg, Montreal, Ottawa and Syracuse. If you have some pics from past OTS8's you'd like to share, please pass them along.

The line up for SOS is: Benjamin Baker-Smith, Jonathan Comeau, Cody Darling, Lena Dunham, Adekemi Gbadebo, Chris Gentes, Stephen Graves, Leah Greenberg, Gordon Holmes, Nicholas Hoskins, Avital Isaacs, Sara Krugman, Alison Luby, Sean McKeown, Ben Neufeld, Peter Nowogrodzki, Ian Page, Ally Paz, Matthew Presto, Lucas Rainey, Max Rivlin-Nadler, Sarina Roma, Andrew Roth, Jack Ryerson, Deb Sperling, Willie Thurlow, and Nicholas Weiss.

We'll be posting more updates as the events approach.

No comments: